Pirelli unveils choices of tyres for first three races

tyre 20th February 2012

Formula One's official tyre supplier has announced the compound allocations for the first three rounds of the 2012 season.

Pirelli will be bringing its new dry-weather P Zero tyres to Melbourne for the first event of the new World Championship.

At the Australian Grand Prix (March 16th to 18th), drivers will be allocated medium and soft rubber-variants of the tyres.

Following on, the Malaysian Grand Prix in Sepang (March 23rd to 25th) will offer drivers a choice of hards and mediums, before the Chinese Grand Prix in Shanghai the following month (April 13th to 15th) serves up mediums and softs.

Under F1 rules, each team will receive six sets of the harder of the two compounds and five sets of the softer compound for each race weekend.

Four sets of Cinturato Green Pirelli tyres will also be provided for each driver to use in damp conditions, as well as three sets of Cinturato Blues for rain.

Posted by Danielle Barge